Sunday Musings

I have a list of, oh, I don’t know, 39 things I’d love to chit chat about today. None of these little tidbits have any cohesion between them – so, get ready for a terribly random post. It’s definitely been awhile since I completely downloaded my brain on you, so I guess it’s about time I get started.

First — let’s get the party going with some music. I know this CD has been out for at least six months already, but… I just love it. Literally, I could replay every track over and over again and still look forward to hearing the same song again. Obviously, I have a small obsession problem. When I was a little girl, I used to watch Beauty and the Beast over and over and over. Not kidding. I would finish the movie and immediately rewind it, just to watch it six more times. I don’t know how I got from music to Beauty and the Beast… I warned you that this post would be random.

Anyway — here’s one of my favorite tracks off Mumford and Son’s Babel CD

I also like this song by The Lumineers, this song by The Avett Brothers (song doesn’t start until 43 seconds in), this song by Melody Gardot (no video attached to this one) and this song by Griffin House. OH! And I really like this song by The Gospel Whiskey Runners. Can I do one more? Thaaaanks. This is a great song by City and Colour. Okay. Sorry. Little off tangent there.. but like I said, I haven’t done a random post like this for way too long.

Alright, now that we’ve set the mood, let’s get to the meat of the post, shall we?

DSC_0169

Just wanted to update our friends and family: Alex left Saturday mid-morning for a couple week long trip for work. I’ve pretty much grown accustomed to having him around all the time. Whenever I start to get sad or feel lonely, I try to remind myself that he was home for almost the entire year last year and before I know it, he’ll be home again. Crossing my fingers and toes for lots of safe and stress-free flights for him!

Since I had plenty of time to kill today, I decided to tackle some really fun tasks that I’ve been putting off for.. oh, well, forever.

DSC_0209

I took everything out of my dresser and night stand. I sorted through all my old crap, threw some stuff away and made a giant pile to take to Goodwill. Then I re-folded every single item and put the keepers back in my dresser. This hasn’t been done since we moved over two years ago! One thing I learned —

DSC_0210Apparently I like to dress in every color of the rainbow at the gym.

I also emptied my nightstand — which was really the biggest offender. Definitely not the most thrilling task for today… but! I found something (slightly important) throughout the ordeal.

DSC_0208

Yep. Now I can see.

I also found my super fancy one-piece bathing suit that I bought freshman year in college when I decided that swimming for exercise would be my new thing. That lasted a good three days when I realized that… um.. swimming is hard! Now that the gym we belong to has a few pools (seriously.. a few) that bathing suit may come in handy. I also conveniently found some goggles (I’m not joking, these were in my nightstand).  After trying it all on, I may have cried a little. Uhhh. Let’s just say that it wasn’t my best look 🙂

Okay, let’s move on. Cue: Awkward subject change.

This year, Alex and I decided that we would use a portion of our tax return on ourselves (imagine that!) Last year we had the bathroom fiasco, which pretty much sucked up our return. It actually felt pretty damn good to spoil ourselves instead of spending all our money on the house! He picked out some parts for his truck and I decided to get two new lenses for my camera. I’m sure you can imagine that I’ve had a lot of fun over the past few weeks playing around with them 🙂

This one is my favorite —

IMG_0936 IMG_0935Yeah, it’s the bees knees. Here are a few pictures that I took with that bad boy.

DSC_0193 DSC_0197

Here’s a close up of the glass that Alex blew up in NY a few weeks ago…

DSC_0190And the big ol’ truck that has stolen him from me.. Kidding… kind of 🙂

DSC_0172And this is the second, smaller fixed lens that I got.

IMG_0938I still need some practice with these little man. Here’s one photo with the baby lens…

DSC_0142

Has this post been random enough for you yet?

No?

Good.

Yesterday my mom and I found these…

IMG_0963

You know that I’ve since started calling my slippers “foot duvets,” right? I just can’t imagine a group of people sitting around a board room trying to think of a new marketing strategy for slippers. Literally someone got paid to think of the term “foot duvet.” Gosh, I’d love to sit next to that person on an airplane.

This picture kills me.

IMG_0958

Alright. That’s enough random stuff for one night! I have some more though provoking posts coming up in the near future, I promise 😉

But for now, I have a very important date with a JUST CLEANED (I tell ya, I’m on top of it today) bathtub and it looks something like this!

Bath

What music are you listening to? Any CDs you could never get sick of? Buying anything fun for yourself lately? Any other people spring cleaning?

11 thoughts on “Sunday Musings

  1. I may need to have my boyfriend read this post. I listen to the SAME CD/Movie/TV show on repeat for months before I even start to get sick of it and he doesn’t understand how. Like you, I did it as a child too – my mom cringes when I say “Bambi” and “Mickey’s Christmas Carol” because I wouldn’t watch anything else.
    I just got my first camera for Christmas and photography is so much fun – I’m glad you splurged on yourself and got a sweet lens..life’s short 🙂

      • I got a Canon Power Shot SX160 IS (Point and Click Camera) from my boyfriend for Christmas. Besides the regular “little cameras”, I had never used one for photography reasons so he got me something small to start out with to see if I enjoyed it. I love it! In a few years I hope I can upgrade to an actual camera, but it’s great for beginners. Have you always used Nikon? I had started using Flickr to share pictures but unless you pay for the service you can only view the last 200 photos. Do you use an online photo account? I’d love to find a different one.
        PS – you’re REALLY good at photography!

      • Thank you 🙂 I’m still very much an amateur, but have really enjoyed learning and playing around with the settings on my camera over the last few years. I haven’t always had a Nikon — I wish! My husband (at the time – boyfriend) bought it for me on our first Christmas together. In college, I had a little point and shoot as well – mine was a Casio Exilim (which I loved since it fit perfectly in all my purses). I mainly took pictures of my friends after too many drinks at Cornerstone and the random pretty sunsets. I’ve always loved to document things though and I’m so happy Alex thought that I would enjoy a bigger camera.

        I don’t use online storing, but have really been meaning to lately. I think it’s a fun way to share photos, but decided not to use Flickr for the same reason as you. So, for now I just store all my pictures on my computer and an external hard drive and print them to share with people the old fashioned way. I use this local company to print my pictures though. If you find a great site to share pictures through — let me know!!

  2. Wow, really? You’re pretty dang good for a beginner. Did you teach yourself or did you have someone help you (Trying to read about photography was harder to understand so I had my boyfriend show me a few things.) Aw, what a coincidence – that my boyfriends first Christmas gift to me too! Do you prefer the Nikon over Casio? When I eventually get “a big girl camera” I’m not sure if I want to stick with Cannon or try a Nikon – I’ve heard great things about both. Ah Cornerstone 🙂 I’m guessing you went to MD? I didn’t BUT I did love Bentley’s and their “sweedish fish” shot.

    I stopped using Flickr after an hour, I’ll be looking into other sites that are free AND user-friendly. If I come across one I’ll definitely send you the link!

    • Alex is a little more creative than me, so he would show me some basics with my camera at the beginning. Lately I’ve been watching a lot of Youtube videos about my specific camera and walk me through the different settings. Then I try to block an hour or two to practice. I usually set out some random bottles at varying lengths away from the camera and change the focus and settings. Or I take a picture of let’s say, the same flower and I use every setting to take the same picture and I analyze what I like/don’t like about each one after.

      My Casio was fun for college and for group type events just since it was so small — but it really couldn’t do more than just that! I love my Nikon, but I’ve heard great things about Cannons too. I think they’re pretty comparable!

      • I never even thought about looking on YouTube, however taking the same picture at varying lengths and focuses is brilliant! The next “photo shoot” I go on I’m definitely going to try that!

        And thank you for the feedback on the Cannon vs Nikon :)!

Leave a Reply

