Happy Love Day

While Alex and I may not celebrate February 14th the way the rest of the country does, I just wanted to stop by real quick. The doggies are dyyying to tell you…

snuggs2

Surprisingly, we were a little more traditional this year. Last week we were discussing how we love that we’re on the same page as far as Valentine’s Day goes. No gross chalk hearts, no gamble chocolates, and no over priced cards… Mainly, we felt that giving each other some random gifts throughout the year was a little more thoughtful than buying something just because it was a certain day of the year (don’t worry, we still celebrate other holidays!)

Apparently that discussion fueled a little gift-giver in each of us. I decided to buy him a truck part that he’s been eyeing and he independently decided to buy me a backpack camera carrying case (the off the shoulder bag makes me feel like I’m carrying around a diaper bag and I often hit it on everything!). Last week we had our little exchange and instead of saying “Happy Valentine’s Day,” we awkwardly barked out… “uhhh, Happy Thursday!” It was kind of silly. But cute.

So, in an effort to boycott the holiday totally, we.. well, sort of celebrated in our own way. And tonight, we’ll finish off the day with a cold class of wine and a yummy beef stir-fry. (oh man, is it time to go home yet??) I guess that’s kind of a Boycott-Valentine’s Day-Fail.

And because I think these “hey girl photos” that are floating all over the internet can be hilarious — here’s my rendition for all dog owners.

heygirl2

Do you celebrate Valentine’s Day? Have you ever tried reaaaally hard not to celebrate something, but you did it anyway? Did you set up any awesome surprises for your loved one today?

6 thoughts on “Happy Love Day

  1. Ha. And you thought you could get away with not celebrating. Maybe it’s better to say that you didn’t “celebrate” in the traditional way?
    Well, seeing as I am the complete opposite and am a completely sappy romantic, I couldn’t imagine trying to not celebrate the holiday. It has been a day of surprise gifts and mushy nothings. 🙂

  2. Hi! Just want to say hello from down the road (I live in MoCo). I’m reading your blog thanks to my husband who is a faithful reader. I love your posts about your garden, your home, and your sweet marriage. It all reminds me a lot of myself and my marriage. We have a new home (7 months now!) complete with a garden plot we’re excited to start using! We also experienced a loss of a pregnancy in the fall. I feel a connection to you because of all this, so thank you for being brave and sharing your life with us out here in cyber-land! 🙂

    • Angela,
      Thank you so much for your kind words! First, I’m so very sorry for your loss. I’m sorry that it has to be something that we have in common, but I’m happy you were able to find my page and hopefully feel a little comfort that you’re not alone. Secondly, Congrats on the new house! Very exciting! And yes, we’re almost neighbors 🙂 I actually work in the Rockville/Gaithersburg area so I’m right in your neck of the woods every day! I’m always happy to find other garden enthusiasts! Good luck with your new garden this spring/summer.. You’ll have to check in with me often and let me know how it goes!!

      Thanks again for the sweet comment — you definitely put a big smile on my face!

      Michelle

Leave a Reply

