Friday Q&A

Good Morning and Happy Friday, friends!

Can you believe I’ve been doing this old blogging thing for almost three years? Kinda crazy, right? Over the years I’ve received various emails asking me all kinds of questions. Some really specific – “where’d you get that jacket?” or “what kind of camera do you use?” and others are more board, “what would you do if you were in a similar situation?” The funny thing with questions is that if one person is wondering it, more often than not, so are a slew of other people. Personally, when I read other people’s blogs these are the posts I love the most. You know, the ones where you really get to learn more about the writer. I tried to compile a few of the questions that I’ve received over the years into a nice little post to close out the week. Most of them can be lumped into one of these categories: work, family/friends, and health.

Work

Question: What do you do for a living?

Answer: How direct, I like your style. After graduating college with a degree in psychology and criminal justice, I searched long and hard for a job in that field. When a few months passed and I was still babysitting to basically say that I had a job, I took whatever “real” job I could. My first “career” job offer came at a local Broker/Dealer. It wasn’t as fancy as it sounds. I was stuck for almost two years as a customer service rep and absolutely hated every minute of it there in the end. Now I work in the same field (investments), but I’m on the regulatory side of things. Among many other things, my company regulates the stock market to make sure people aren’t doing shady business. It’s certainly interesting work, but like any job, has some boring parts that are more day-to-day duties. Overall, I absolutely love my job and the team that I work with and enjoy feeling like I’m doing something important.

Question: I’ve recently found myself contemplating switching jobs. I remember when you announced that you were leaving your old job (from this post back here).Was it hard to make that decision? Have you regretted it? Did you find a new job first?

Answer: Great questions. It took a long time for me to get fed up enough to decide to start looking for other career opportunities. It certainly didn’t happen overnight. Rather it was a long string of events that made me unhappy. The thing with life is that a job just isn’t important enough to really and deeply affect your happiness. You can’t just go home and snap into a better mood. Being unhappy at work impacts so, sooo much of your life. Once I had a little encouragement from Alex, my mom, and a couple close friends, I decided to look around for other jobs. Thankfully, my search was very quick and had accepted my new job less than two weeks after submitting my resume. Yes, I interviewed and accepted my new job while still employed to make sure we wouldn’t find ourselves in a financial rut. Have I regretted it? Not for a second. I’m a big proponent for doing what makes you happy. It’s just not worth it!

Question: Do you plan to work from home/be a stay at home mom when you guys have kids?

Answer: This is actually a topic that Alex and I have talked a lot about lately (not really as a “would we want to do this” but really just talking about it). The answer: nope. While it works wonderfully for some families – it just wouldn’t work with us. We both grew up with moms and dads who went to work every day and that’s just how we envision our lives as well. It would cause too many issues with us. Plus, I’m not as self-motivated as Alex to get stuff done (just bein’ honest) and I would be itching to get out of the house pretty much all day. Alex and I always joke that between the two of us, he would be the waaaaay better stay at home parent. Is it gonna happen? Nope. (Sorry, babe!) We’re gonna keep truckin’ along at work. (again, please don’t think that just because this situation wouldn’t work for us means that I condone others for choosing this lifestyle!)

Family/Friends

Question: How did you and Alex meet?

Answer: I wrote all about how we met here and here. Such a fun story 🙂

Question: How did you and your husband know that you were ready to start a family? Did you keep it a secret?

Answer: Oh babies. Hopefully our luck with this subject will change soon! We always knew we wanted to have a family but wanted to be married for at least a year before we started really trying. We thought it was important to get to know our relationship as husband and wife a little better before we introduced another human being into the equation. Neither of us had any idea that this would take more than a couple months. How long will this journey take? No idea. I’ll keep you in the loop though. Did we keep it a secret? Umm.. yes and no. I had a couple really close girlfriends that I felt comfortable talking to. My mom knew, and I’m sure a whole slew of people assumed we were trying, but I didn’t announce it to the world or post it on my facebook until the surgery happened (then I felt like writing about it would help with the healing process, plus, having a pretty serious surgery is something you like to share with family and friends).

Question: I’ve found that as we get older, staying in touch with friends gets really hard. How do you stay in touch with close friends?

Answer: You’re definitely not alone on this one. Unfortunately, I’ve been pretty bad with staying in touch lately. I think the key is to really find a time that works well with you. Personally, the friends that email me directly at work get a response from me way quicker than any other method. I tend to get to start my day much earlier than most of my friends though (I get to work between 7 and 7:30 and leave around 4). The problem with this is that driving home from work seems to be a perfect time to call and catch up with them. However, most of my friends are still working when I’m driving home so we always miss each other then. Once I get home, being with my family, trying to grab a work out, and make dinner/clean up pretty much take up the rest of my night. Sooo, a long winded explanation to say: you gotta find a way and a time that works for you. For me? Emailing during the day is working the best right now.

Question: Have you ever wanted to move far away?

Answer: Yep. When I was picking what college I wanted to go to, I purposefully chose a school that was far from home. That’s how I ended up at Florida State for a couple years. I transferred to UMD during my sophomore year when my dad was sick and never regretted that decision either. Do I still want to move far away? Um, eventually. Right now, we’re loving our house and its location. My mom is right down the road, which really helps when Alex is deployed. We both dream of retiring in the mountains somewhere and have been obsessed with the idea of moving to Tennessee after our trip there last May (check this post and this post for that info).

Health

Question: How do you stay in shape?

Answer: A couple months ago, Alex and I joined a gym about five minutes from our house. They offer a ton of great classes that we’ve been going to at night. Alex and I go to Body Pump together 2-3 times a week. The other days I do a cycling or a Body Combat/Body Attack (some other kind of cardio) class while Alex does his normal work out around the gym. Before we joined, both of our works have work-out facilities and we were going there during our lunch break. Are we perfect with keeping up with this? No, definitely not. In fact, we just had a lengthy discussion last night about bigger changes we could make to see results. I’ll let you know how that turns out.

Question: When you post recipes they don’t always tend to be super healthy. Do you cook like this all the time? Do you have stand-by meals you eat during the week?

Answer: What, you mean that a giant bowl of clam chowder or a plate full of peach cobbler isn’t the best thing for you? I definitely post some treats, that’s for sure. But browsing through some of my recipes, I feel like I try to have a good mix of healthy foods and once in a while foods. During the week we typically eat chicken one night (whether it’s marinated and grilled, used as chicken parmesan, or cut up in chicken fajitas), some kind of seafood (salmon, shrimp, seafood pasta), we also usually have a soup and sandwich night, and a leftover night. We try to eat out just once a week (although we’ve been doing that move often lately) – usually on Friday or Saturday. For lunch I eat a salad, soup, or leftovers from the night before. We’re not perfect, but tend to think that eating healthy 80% of the time, let’s you eat not so great the remaining 20%.

Wow, that was a lot longer than I was expecting it to be. I’d like to answer more of your questions on a regular basis, but I need your help to do that! Send me an email with your questions at Lifewithacrazypup(at)gmail(dot)com – I’d love to hear from you. Or feel free to leave your questions in the comments section of this post. OR you can submit them to me anonymously here.

What do you guys have planned for the weekend? Is this a kind of post you’d like to see more of or was this not your cup of tea? Do you have any great advice for staying in touch with friends? Any stand-by recipes that you’re dying to share?

11 thoughts on “Friday Q&A

  1. I love reading posts like this too! Email is the best way to reach me, too. However, I just bought a new windows phone, so texting might also work in the future (I haven’t had a smart phone until now. I’m so behind!).

  2. Congratulations on keeping your blog up and running for three long years! Many people try to blog and they quit within 3 months, haha! It’s not an easy thing to keep up with, especially if you have a lot going on in your life. Kudos to you!!! You made it, you survived the blogging world! =)

    Great degrees you’ve got there! I can barely keep up with a psychology class, let alone obtaining a degree in the field, haha! I passed one college psychology class with a B and one with a D. It was a nightmare I tell ya! I have two degrees thus far – Associates degree in Human Services and I’m currently working towards a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. I hope it’s not odd that I’ll be opening a business before I actually obtain my degree in 2014. It’ll be a learning experience in the making.

    Wow! I’ve always wanted to go to Florida! Especially to be close to the beach. Do you know that I’ve never visited a real ocean beach before? NEVER. My fiancee and I moved 3 hours and 45 minutes away from our home state. We packed up and left from Ohio and came to Kentucky – best decision I’ve made in quite some time. Feels good to get away. Our next destination will be ever further, more like 18 hours away – Dallas, TX.

    I stumbled across your blog from blog surfing. I’ll be back to visit you soon!

    ♥Carrie
    http://ilovebeingonline.com

    • Hi Carrie! Thanks for the awesome comment! Good luck finishing up that degree! What kind of business are you opening? How exciting! And my husband has so many good things to say about Texas, I’m sure you’ll love it there! I’m hoping to make my way down and visit one day soon 🙂

  3. Pingback: Odd Encounters | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

