NYE + Salsa Recipe

Wow, I’m getting pretty original with the old titles, aren’t I? Yes, my friends – I put a lot of thought into that one.

Happy New Years Eve! Tonight we’re planning to hang out with good friends and family at my mom’s house. I’ll bring my camera — you know that though. I’ll even try to take pictures of people too, not just dogs! Oh yeah, it’s happening. Let’s take bets though. Five to one chances that I take twice as many pictures of dogs than people. What do you think?

DSC_0857I kinda like these mutts.

DSC_0848Before the holiday season is officially over and it becomes taboo to write about it anymore, I wanted to share my little village. I remember as a child my grandma (who we all call Mom (yes, even Alex) but I think that would be confusing for all you non-family members).. anyway! I remember my grandma had a village set up every Christmas. I could sit for hours and look into all of the different houses (they’re very, very fragile so certainly not a toy) and imagine about the little people’s lives. I would make up little stories about their Christmases and their families.

I kinda forgot about them though. It wasn’t until Alex and I got really serious and started our own Christmas traditions when he told me that his mom had a collection of them as well. So it was an easy decision, I wanted a Christmas village too. We started collecting the Department 56, Dickens Village a couple years ago and oh, how it’s grown!

This year we set up a little table just for the houses!

DSC_0869

DSC_0866I just love them. They make me feel like a little kid!

Anyway, let’s get to this recipe. I’ve mentioned it a few times that the man of the house REALLY enjoys salsa. Like… a lot, a lot. He judges salsa based on whether it can make the back of his neck sweat. When I ask Alex to put into words how much he likes salsa, his exact words were (in a very serious voice, mind you), “I can’t. I drink salsa. I love it.”

So, in an attempt to have his favorite snack around the house – I dove head first into the salsa making world. I’ve tried all different kinds. Fresh tomatoes, pureed, chopped, roasted, ALL KINDS.

The problem was that every time I made a different kind of salsa, I never wrote the recipe down. I just kinda winged it, ya know? I would throw in this and that, we would taste it, then I’d add a little more of a couple things. It really wasn’t a science. BUT every time we would find the best salsa ever, I could never recreate it exactly. Thus this recipe was born. I made salsa again a couple weeks ago and wrote down every ingredient and made changes every time I added a little more. It was a pain, but I’m happy it’s done and I can finally make it taste the same every time! Huzzah!

some notes before we get started: I use a food processor, but you could use a blender as well. I would recommend chopping the onions and jalapeños first if you use a blender. Also, this recipe is more of a pureed salsa without any big chunks. You could throw some chunks in at the end if you want more texture. Additionally, I’ve found that using fresh tomatoes versus canned tomatoes doesn’t make a big difference taste wise. Unless it’s summer time and I have an overflow of tomatoes like I did here, I always use cans now. I buy them in bulk and they’re way cheaper than fresh ones and MUCH less work than cutting them and scooping out the seeds, yadda yadda.

One last thing: keep in mind that the longer you keep the salsa in the fridge, the stronger the cilantro taste becomes. If you aren’t eating it right away, tone down the cilantro. And feel free to make a TON and freeze it (like I did here and here).

Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 2 -3 jalapeños (depending on how spicy you like it, I freeze my jalapeños in half so I use 2.5 (5 halves))
  • 1.5 medium onions or 1 large onion, quartered
  • 1.5 T garlic
  • 3 T of lime juice
  • 1 t cummin
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 3 cans of chopped tomatoes (do not drain)
  • small handful of cilantro, rinsed
  • salt to taste

Directions

1. In a food processor (or blender) pulse together onions, garlic and jalapeños until chopped.

DSC_06562. Add the remaining ingredients besides the tomatoes and pulse until well incorporated.

DSC_06573. Add tomatoes and pulse until desired consistency.

DSC_06594. Let sit in the fridge for at least an hour for flavors to really combine. (we occasionally eat it right away, it’s still good. it just gets better if you can manage to wait!)

ENJOY!

DSC_0662So yeah, it’s really easy. Just basically throw it all in the processor and pulse it together. Bing, Bang, Boom. Done.

one more quick note: I typically only use two cans of tomatoes, however, I added a little too much lime juice this time so I had to dull it down with more tomatoes. If you only want to make it with two cans, only use 2 T of lime juice rather than 3. Since I was trying to write down exactly what I used and we ended up loving this end result, I’m keeping the recipe as is.

Do you have any recipes that just wing every time you make it? Do you have specific Christmas/holiday decorations that remind you of childhood? Do you have any fun NYE plans? 

Happy New Year!!!!

10 thoughts on “NYE + Salsa Recipe

  1. Love your village! My grandma had one when I was growing up too. 🙂 My recipe that I just throw together would be baked buffalo wings. I haven’t taken the time to write it down, though! Maybe I should. 🙂

  2. Your village is awesome! I can’t wait to start building my own 🙂 isn’t it hard to write down a recipe when you are used to just throwing things into the dish? At least you have that one out if the way. Do you have any other favorite recipes that you always Wong when you make it? I love seeing everyone’s creative side in the kitchen!

      • Unfortunately I fly by the seat of my pants with pretty much everything.. I am working on writing down the measurements for all of our favorites, though! I think my biggest struggle is that I measure by dumping it into my hand.. so it’s not an exact science to begin with!
        You know I love pastas and soups. I can’t wait to see those recipes!

  3. Good day! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  4. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you
    by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many
    thanks for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have
    bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read much more,
    Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

