Get to Know: ME!

Hi! On Tuesday I posted a little interview that we had with the man of the house, Alex. You guys had great feedback and seemed to really enjoy getting to know him a little better! Yay for making my readers happy 🙂

One of my best friends, Suzzette, noted that even though she felt like she really knew me (my wants, things that irritate me, what I enjoy doing on Friday night, etc.) she felt like she wasn’t 100% sure how I would answer some of those questions. She said, “Such as hot dogs or hamburgers – we always seem to do something a little more fancy, so I don’t know your preference!”

Ask and you shall receive kiddos! These are the same questions that Alex answered (plus a couple extra). Obviously, Alex and I have similar dreams for the future so some of our answers (as you can imagine) are similar.

Where did you grow up? Glenelg, MD

How did you find your way to MD? Well – considering I’ve lived here my whole life (besides a 2 year stint at Florida State before transferring back to UMD), it’s easy to guess how I ended up here 🙂

What’s one of your favorite family traditions as a kid? I absolutely loved our first fire in our wood-burning stove every year. I know this isn’t really a tradition, but on the first days when it was getting cold (not those random chilly days in September) my dad would start a fire right before I got off the school bus. I used to smell the smoke immediately and run down the driveway to check it out. I love fall and winter isn’t too shabby, so to me it symbolized holidays and family time.

What’s one of your favorite family traditions now as an adult? Decorating the house together for the holidays. (Since I can’t pick the same thing Alex did!)

What’s your favorite day of the week and why? Saturday, specifically Saturday morning. I love our big breakfasts that Alex mentioned the other day and dancing in the kitchen. I love a hot cup of coffee on a chilly morning and doggie walks around the neighborhood. I like the couple hours we take to relax before we get our day started and start checking things off our to-do list.

What’s your favorite childhood memory? Baking Christmas cookies with my mom in the kitchen.

Do you prefer to eat out at restaurants or at home? At home – every day besides Friday. The two of us go to happy hour together every Friday evening. It’s such a perfect way for us to recap the week and get excited for the weekend.

What’s your favorite season? You know that I’m a lover of ALL SEASONS and I try not to discriminate. BUT if I had to choose, Fall – definitely! I love the colors and the cooler temperatures. I love decorating for fall and starting to get excited for the holidays. Apple cider, Chili, Football, Sweatshirts, Bonfires, Brisk Walks — yep, I’m drooling right now.

What do you like to do in your free time? Hang out with Alex and our two puppies. I also have a thing for baths, a glass of cold white wine, and a good book.

Coffee or tea? Coffee.

What’s the best/worst part of having two dogs? The best part is always having their company. Alex deploys for a few months every year and without those two mutts, I would be incredibly lonely. They keep the bed warm when the mister is away 🙂 The worst part is cleaning up all their poop. I have a weak stomach and gag a lot. It’s gross. What? You didn’t want me to be honest?

What’s your dream vacation? I’d love to go to Europe as well! Specifically, Italy and Ireland. I’d also love to go to Australia. Well.. I’d just love to go outside of the country! I’ve never left!

Where do you want to be in 5 years? Still working and loving my job. I’d love to have a couple babies running around. I’m not going to be as specific as saying 2 kids like the hubs, but babies (or baby) in general. I’d like to have put more money towards retirement and our (future) baby’s college.

What was your first job? I taught gymnastics classes at my old gym (not work-out gym… gymnastics gym)

What do you think is your best trait? I feel like I’m a good listener. Maybe some of my friends would say differently, but I try to be there for people when they need it.

What do you think Alex loves most about you? That I’m more of an old fashioned woman. He loves that I actually enjoy cooking, baking and gardening. Not in a sexist way at all – he definitely helps out! He just likes that I LIKE to do those things. You know what I mean? People have completely lost those skills these days.

What’s your ideal weekend? Sleeping in on Saturday (yes, sleeping until 8 is considered sleeping in at our house), drinking coffee, making breakfast together, walking with the pups, tidying up the house, doing a few projects, baking something, hanging out with friends, happy hour, a redbox movie, and Sunday football. Lots of quality family time!

Where would you love to retire? Sorry! I’m not going to be original – I’d love to retire in the mountains. Maybe with a lake or stream nearby. Lots of land and tons of doggies running around!!

How do you feel about the whole blogging dealio? Skip.

Is it hard leaving your family for months at a time? What makes it easier? Skip.

What’s your favorite project you’ve done to the house so far? It’s a tie between the master bathroom and our bedroom makeover.

What’s your dream project? Kitchen. And I would love if we could fit a big claw foot tub in another bathroom.

Who taught you all your handy(wo)man skills? Um. Alex.

Am I were I thought I would be at this point in my life? Honestly, yes and no. No, because I’m still pretty young (24) and we’ve already owned our house for over a year and a half. I never thought I would be paying a mortgage when I was only 22! Yes, because I’ve always been old for my age. I grew up quick (due to my dad’s sickness) and seem to have always had more things in common with my mom’s friends than people my own age. So – I’m not really surprised that I got married young and was ready to settle down.

What is one of my absolute favorite memories (besides our wedding day)? Before we moved into our house we lived in an apartment complex and had the best times. We were best friends with our neighbors and basically lived a “Friends” TV show lifestyle. That year or two will definitely be something I tell our kids/grandkids about!

What is one piece of relationship advice you give to people? True love should be easy. You shouldn’t always be forcing all the puzzle pieces together and trying to make them work. They should just fall in place. At the same time, don’t expect every day to be perfect even when you’re with the perfect person for you. If you lived alone you’d still have good and bad days. With two people, you have to take into account their jobs, families, issues as well as yours. It’s okay to have GREAT days, as well as mediocre and crappy days together. Just be there for one another when you need it.

What’s one thing that you can always work on? I tend to say the first thing that I think of when I get into arguments. I need to remember to think everything through and actually say what I mean, instead of assuming the other people will understand what I meant.

Burger or Hot Dogs? CHEESEBurger Chicken or Steak? Steak Beer or Whiskey? Whiskey Mustard or Mayo? Mayo TV show or Movie? (depends on the day of the week) TV show during the week and movie on the weekends Running or Insanity? Neither – Spinning or Zumba Biking or Hiking? Hiking

Still here after a lengthy 1,500 words? Good!

Now it’s your turn! I want to get to know each and every one of you better! Tell me – What’s one of your favorite childhood memories? Do you hate mustard like me? What piece of relationship advice would you give to people? Where do you want to be in 5 years?

11 thoughts on “Get to Know: ME!

  1. Okay, first of all, your house projects are ridiculously amazing. Maybe I can hire you guys to do my house one day ha! And…I wish my life was Friends. THE.BEST.

    My favorite childhood memories: honestly, my memory sucks. I’d have to say being a badass gymnast when I was really young (like you!).
    I absolutely hate mustard. It’s disgusting to me!
    In 5 years, I hope to be finishing med school and starting 4 years of residency.

    • Hire us to do something that we enjoy doing? Yes, please! Gymnastics was pretty BA – that’s for sure. I miss being the strongest girl — errrr— person in school! And can I just tell you how ridiculously jealous I am that you’re going to be a DOCTOR! Incredible! Smartypants 🙂

  2. Favorite childhood memory: Christmas with Grandma (she raised me). The 1st thing I would open was a stick of pepperoni, she would give me every year. (yes pepperoni is a Christmas breakfast food). I don’t hate mustard, I just like Miracle Whip better.(hate is such a strong word for a condiment). Relationship advice: Always be willing to give 100 % and receive 50 %. If you’re with the right person, that feels the same way……..well, you both get 100 %. 🙂 Where in 5 years: Well I have a saying. “I wouldn’t change a thing in my life, because everything I’ve been through brought me here. And there’s no place I would rather be, than right here right now”
    Well, that’s me in a nutshell:

    • I love your comment DON! (And thanks for commenting 🙂 )

      Okay, and maybe I don’t HATE mustard – it’s okay in recipes in a small amount (for instance, deviled eggs!) but I would never put some on my sandwich!

      Your saying is awesome! So inspirational! I like it almost as much as your “Alcohol is neat!” one 🙂

  3. Okay here we go:
    Favorite childhood memory: driving in a UHaul cab, pulling a truck with our dog, with my two brothers and my dad from Georgia to Washington – took about a week crammed in that cab! We ended up blowing a tire, being stuck on the side of the road, and holding up a sign that said ‘Call 911’ because we didn’t have a cell phone at the time. A cop showed up, called someone to fix it, and asked us to take the sign down because so many people were calling 911!
    I despise mustard. The only thing I like it in is deviled eggs.
    Relationship advice: Always make time for just the two of you. Even if you have kids, work completely opposite hours, or have a ton of stuff going on – make sure you have time to talk.
    Where I want to be in 5 years: anywhere as long as I am with the people I love.

      • I guess even though that is my absolute favorite child-hood memory, I don’t talk about that week-long trip and all the ups and downs of it very often. Looking back there were some pretty funny moments. For instance, back in those days we didn’t have GPS so we were following printed directions for the whole trip. My brother mis-read the directions and we ended up way off course, lost an entire day, and had to back-track.

  4. Pingback: Get to know: You! | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

