Get to Know: The Hubs

Happy Tuesday, my friends. How’s life going? Anything new? Isn’t this fun? Me talking to myself… pretending that that I’m talking to you.

Did you have a great weekend? Are happy the Steelers won? Yeah, me too. We have so much in common. That’s why we’re such great friends, ya know? These guys approve of our little relationship.

DSC_0271

Tonight we’re gonna do a little interview with the husband. It’s about time for you to get to know him a little better… I mean you only have to read about him all… the… time.

So, without further ado here are my questions (in bold) and Alex’s responses.

DSC_1019

Where did you grow up? Sacramento, CA.

How did you find your way to MD? I joined the military at 22. Went from there to OK to AL to OK to TX to MD.

What’s one of your favorite family traditions as a kid? Hmm.. That would have to be split between Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. Christmas Eve where we get to open one present and our stockings. Christmas morning because we would have a collage of different snackies. We’d have the fire in the fireplace and hot chocolate. The youngest (me) would have to pass out all the presents.

What’s one of your favorite family traditions now as an adult? Saturday morning breakfast. Where my wife and I get to sit and listen to Michael Buble and other easy listening music and dance in the kitchen. We make a big family breakfast just for the two of us.

What’s your favorite day of the week and why? Friday. The week is over and the weekend is about to begin!

What’s your favorite childhood memory? Sitting in the backseat of the Suburban while on long road trips in the summer.

Do you prefer to eat out at restaurants or at home? At home. My wife cooks better than most restaurants.

What’s your favorite season? Autumn. Cold enough for sweater weather, hot chocolate, fires, and apple cider but warm enough to still do outdoor activities.

What do you like to do in your free time? Finally relax.

Coffee or tea? Coffee.

What’s the best/worst part of having two dogs? Best part is the exorbitant amount of love that they give you. You can get home from a crappy day at work and their love can make everything better. Worst – having to share your love between them.

What’s your dream vacation? Three month tour of Europe, ending with a tour of Ireland.

Where do you want to be in 5 years? That’ll put me 7 years from retirement from the military. Hopefully in a bigger house or finally finished with our projects in our current home. Two kids. Oh, and with 15 puppies. Just kidding… (about the kids puppies).

What was your first job? I mowed lawns in my neighborhood as a kid.

What do you think is your best trait? I like to think that I’m a good Samaritan. I always stop for people with a flat tire or that get stuck on the side of the road. I like to help people that are in need.

What do you think Michelle loves most about you? The fact that I’m still a kid at heart.

What’s your ideal weekend? Waking up late on a Saturday, making a good breakfast with my wife, working on the house for a little bit with her and then taking the rest of the day off and enjoy each other’s company.

Where would you love to retire? In a log cabin in the mountains… just separated enough from civilization. Somewhere peaceful and serene, where you can see nature just be nature. But close enough where someone would find me if I die… I mean, close enough where people can still visit.

How do you feel about the whole blogging dealio? I enjoy it. It makes my wife happy and I like to show people all the things that we’ve done. I’m glad she documents things, because I certainly wouldn’t without her. But.. it’s still taking away some of the quality time we could spend together at night. So, there is that.

Is it hard leaving your family for months at a time? What makes it easier? Yes, it’s always hard leaving my family for months at a time. It makes it easier knowing that I can talk to Michelle periodically. It’s true that absence makes the heart grow fonder.

What’s your favorite project you’ve done to the house so far? The master bathroom.

What’s your dream project? Building a deck

Who taught you all your handyman skills? My dad. He taught me everything I know about working with tools and doing house projects.

Burger or Hot Dogs? Burger Chicken or Steak? Steak Beer or Whiskey? Whiskey Mustard or Mayo? Mustard TV show or Movie? TV show Running or Insanity? Running Biking or Hiking? Hiking

Alright! What’d ya think? Did you learn anything new? Anything you’re still dying to know?

Here’s some puppy pictures. Because.. well.. this is a doggie blog after all and they’ve been neglected lately!

DSC_0240

DSC_0245

DSC_0259

DSC_0258

DSC_0232

13 thoughts on “Get to Know: The Hubs

  1. Guess you learn something new every day! I didn’t realize he wanted to retire to a log cabin in the mountains. What about you? I know this is your blog, but I think you should answer the same questions too!

  2. Hi Alex!!!

    Thanks for posting this interview! Sometimes I forget that so many us blogging ladies have husbands too LOL. You’re lucky he gave serious answers. Brian’s would be 98% him joking around.

    • Haha! His first response was normally something silly.. When I asked him where he wanted to be in 5 years.. He said… “Well, I’d hopefully like to still be married..” UMM.. thanks 🙂 You should have heard what he does in his spare time.. Raunchy.

  3. Pingback: Wine and Dine (and a Recipe) | Life With a Crazy Pup

  4. Where in Maryland are you guys? I’m from Baltimore, so yeahhh… That Steelers comment. Almost changed my mind on this whole liking your blog thing. But you love dogs, so I was able to overcome that minor snafu.

    • Haha your comment literally made me laugh out loud! Sadly — I get that a lot 🙂 We’re in a little town that splits Howard and Carroll County. About 25 minutes from Baltimore and 15 minutes from Westminster. Are you still living in Maryland??

  5. Pingback: Get to Know: ME! | Life With a Crazy Pup

  6. Pingback: Dating for Less | Life With a Crazy Pup

  7. Pingback: Get to know: You! | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

