The Ultimate Chili Recipe

I love a good bowl of chili. I don’t just kinda do chili every now and again, I DO chili. Of course, when I first think “chili” –  words like fall, pumpkins, beer and football immediately come to mind. However, I could eat a bowl of chili no matter the season. Whether it’s white chicken chili, Cincinnati chili, chili with or without beans, a chili dog, nachos with chili — WHATEVER the case may be, I’ll partake.

Are you raking what I’m leafing here, people? I like chili.

So, I’m always on the hunt for new chili recipes and when I came across this one back in February (I’m very timely), I knew I had to make it. Now, when I made it the first time – I really amped up the spices! My father-in-law, Mike, was staying with us to help completely rebuild our bathroom. And if you know Alex and Mike, then you already know that they both like food with an insane amounta little bit of heat.

I’m not kidding! Alex judges good salsa, hot wings, hot sauce, etc. based on whether they can make the back of his neck sweat. Kinda gross, but hey, just keepin’ it real folks.

What I’m trying to say, is that if you want a bowl of chili with HEAT – this is the perfect starter recipe! Just add more spices, hot sauce and peppers until you get it to the spiciness that you desire.

With all of that in mind, this past weekendwe had our friends, Suzzette and Joe, staying with us and decided to whip up a batch of this lovely chili. Neither of them like spicy food (like… at all), so I used the recipe below without any additional spices (besides what’s listed below).

First off, we thought we had a chance of hurricanethunderstorms (pretty much missed us altogether. boo. I’m always down for a good hurricane party) and there’s nothing better than a dreary night in with a bowl of chili and a fire in the fireplace. And secondly, we had 98% of the ingredients on hand. After the men ran out to grab a couple of quick things – making this recipe turned out to be super cheap (well… at one time or another we had to buy all the stuff… so maybe not SUPER cheap, but it was definitely cheaper than us all going out to eat).

One thing I will mention about this recipe is that it has a lot of ingredients. Most of which, you should already have in your spice cabinet or pantry. The original recipe I used can be found here, all of my changes are listed below.

Chili

The Ultimate Chili

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 2 pound bulk Italian sausage
  • 3 cans beans, rinsed and drained (I use 3 different beans each time. i.e. 1 can Great Northern Beans, 1 can Kidney Beans, 1 can Pinto Beans)
  • 1 can chili beans in spicy sauce
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 large onion, chopped (I used a Vidalia)
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 can chile peppers, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon bacon bits (optional)
  • 4 cubes beef bouillon or beef broth or beef base (whatever you have on hand will do)
  • 1/2 cup beer
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 crushed Hershey Kiss or a few chocolate chips or 1 tsp cocoa powder

Toppings:

  • 1 bag Fritos
  • Freshly shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • Sour cream

Directions:

  1. Brown and crumble ground beef and italian sausage in large stock pan or dutch oven. Drain off excess grease.
  2. Pour in the beans, spicy chili beans, diced tomatoes and tomato paste. Stir until incorporated.
  3. Add the onion, celery, green and qbell peppers, chile peppers, bacon bits, bouillon, and beer.
  4. Stir in chili powder, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, oregano, cumin, hot pepper sauce, basil, salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika, honey, cinnamon and chocolate. Stir, cover and simmer over lowest heat for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. (From the bottom up)
  5. After 2 hours, taste, and adjust spices as necessary. The longer the chili simmers, the better it will taste.
  6. Remove from heat and serve. OR refrigerate to serve the next day.
  7. Add toppings to each bowl. ENJOY!

Chilidogs

Once your done, make yourself some chili dogs. Yep. It happened.

Happy (almost) Fall.

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Chili Recipe

Leave a Reply

