Whole30 Reflections Day 1 & 2

We’re already on day three… of thirty. Wah! A lot of you checked out my post yesterday announcing our Whole30 challenge, so I figured I’d update you on how the first couple days went and answer some questions.

I’m amazed at how easy it is to get out of bed in the morning, even after just three days. I leave the house by 6 am, so you can imagine waking up isn’t always fun. Lately, I’ve been pressing snooze a lot. Actually – I’ve gotten out of bed, let the dogs out, and then gone back to bed for 10 minutes. You can imagine how tired I’ve felt if I’m willing to get back into bed after already being up. However, when my alarm went off yesterday and today – I reached to press snooze (just out of habit) and realized that I didn’t need to and wasn’t tired at all. Up I went!

I’m also feeling less uncomfortable. Last night we had a big dinner (packed with veggies and chicken) and although I felt full after we ate, I didn’t feel like I just devoured  three pounds of butter AND a thanksgiving feast. I didn’t feel gross or bloated and actually went to sleep with a stomach the same size as it is when I wake up in the morning. I also find myself instinctively drinking WAY more water than I have been lately. I’m feeling more hydrated every day.

I still don’t have the meal planning thing down. The last two days I packed us lunches with very little protein in it but FULL of veggies. I felt pleasantly full after lunch but by dinner time, I wanted to eat my arm off. I learned – and packed leftovers from dinner (with chicken!) which will undoubtedly hold us over until dinner tonight. On day 1 & 2 we had a scrambled egg and sausage mess for breakfast, but today I decided to switch things up with a smoothie. However, since I didn’t have greek yogurt or any other giant source of protein, I felt hungry three hours later (but still way before lunch). Still learning…

By three in the afternoon, I am fully aware that I’m going through a sugar detox. I feel spacey and have a hard time concentrating on simple tasks. During this time, Alex said he felt “weak and exhausted.” I know that this – A. Isn’t going to last forever and B. May also be contributed to our lunches void of protein.

I think we were both feeling a little testy yesterday due to our lack of sugar. We didn’t actually fight with each other, but we were definitely a little bickery. At least we know what one another is going through and can work on our patience skills.

My Outlook

Positive. The good outweigh the bad for me already. I’ve been able to find so many great recipes and ideas that I’m dying to try. It’s definitely a challenge, but I’m really hoping that I can stick to it!

Questions:

Can you drink coffee? Absolutely. Just substitute coconut milk for cream if you need to. I haven’t tried it yet and have decided that black coffee is the way fo’ me.

Aren’t you starving all the time? No, you shouldn’t be starving yourself at all. In fact, you should be taking in the same amount of calories, just from more nutritional sources. The only times we have felt more hungry than usual were completely my fault due to poor planning and lack of fresh food in our house. I’ve gone to the store, have a better idea of a filling lunch, and have made changes. Yay!

I don’t think I could live without (insert favorite food here): Simple answer – yes, you can. A person can get used to ANYTHING. If I can give up bagels and cheese and Friday night beers, than you can too. I have no more willpower than anyone else. I promise you, you’ll live.

WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS? Here ya go..  taken directly from the Whole30 program.

I eat real food – fresh, natural food like meat, vegetables and fruit.  I choose foods that are nutrient-dense, with lots of naturally occurring vitamins and minerals, over foods that have more calories but less nutrition.  And food quality is important – I’m careful about where my meat, seafood and eggs come from, and buy organic local produce as often as possible.

This is not a “diet” – I eat as much as I need to maintain strength, energy, activity levels and a healthy body weight.  I aim for well-balanced nutrition, so I eat both animals and a significant amount of plants.  I’m not lacking carbohydrates – I just get them from vegetables and fruits instead of bread, cereal or pasta.  And my meals are probably higher in fat than you’d imagine, but fat is a healthy source of energy when it comes from high-quality foods like avocado, coconut and grass-fed beef.

Eating like this is ideal for maintaining a healthy metabolism and reducing inflammation within the body.  It’s good for body composition, energy levels, sleep quality, mental attitude and quality of life.  It helps eliminate sugar cravings and reestablishes a healthy relationship with food.  It also works to minimize your risk for a whole host of lifestyle diseases and conditions, like diabetes, heart attack, stroke and autoimmune.

What other questions do you have about this challenge??

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Reflections Day 1 & 2

  1. I had the same issues week 1. I had no idea what I was doing and I was way under eating. After week two, I think I have it figured out a little better. Sweet potatoes and avocados have been very helpful adding healthy fat and carbs.

Leave a Reply

