Our Wedding: Revisited

Exactly one year ago, I woke up early and kissed my fiancé goodbye knowing that the next time I saw him we would be getting ready to promise each other our forevers. I drove to my mom’s house in my silky bathrobe because, apparently, that sort of thing is acceptable on your wedding day.

For the next few hours, my friends and I chatted and ate homemade quiche while we waited to get our hair done. It was strangely relaxing. We weren’t running all over the place. We weren’t shedding tears. We just laughed and reminisced. My mom was very, well, mothering – making sure that I had enough to eat and that I was drinking enough water.

We eventually got around to doing our make-up (yes, we did our own) and by then it was time to head out. We checked into the Gramercy Mansion just as that day’s prior wedding was wrapping up. I remember seeing the joy in the freshly married couple’s faces thinking that soon, I’ll have that same look. With just enough time, we started getting dressed. Our photographers were snapping away commenting on how calm we all were.

The girls and I headed out to the gardens for pictures, while the men were just showing up.

Once our pictures were captured, the photographers were off to shoot the men’s photos.

What happened next was one of my favorite moments of the day. Alex and I saw each other for the first time.

I know that people get hung up on superstitions and traditions. However, we’re not the kind of people that put our marriage in the hands of luck. We had an incredibly intimate moment together in an otherwise hectic day. We were able to share our thoughts and feelings without having 135 of our closest friends and family watching.

It was magical.

Instead of spending our entire cocktail hour taking pictures, we were able to get all of them finished before our guests even arrived.

Before I knew it, it was time to walk down the aisle. Hand in hand with my mom, we made our way to Alex.

Our pastor’s message was beautiful and moving. He spoke about our values and our family. It wasn’t until he began talking about my dad and how he could feel his presence before I shed a few tears. Alex gripped my hands tighter and we said our vows.

After we were announced as husband and wife, I patiently waited for our first kiss as a married couple. I felt like I was waiting… and waiting… for what felt like forever. I must have made a notion to the pastor and he said, “Yes, you can now kiss your bride… or in your case… your husband.” We giggled like school kids and finally got to kiss!

We had a wonderful time celebrating with friends and family for the rest of the night. It was everything that I hoped it would be.

We both agree that one of our favorite moments of the entire day came when everyone left. We had an incredible suite (thanks, Mom!) for the evening. So, we kicked off our shoes and filled our huge whirlpool tub. After popping a bottle of champagne, we proceeded to eat a basket of our wedding food left by our caterers. We sat in the tub for hours, opening our cards and reading the sweet words of our loved ones. After a momentous day and a busy week, we finally got to relax!

Happy Anniversary to my wonderful husband. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. I can’t wait to celebrate this evening (and eat our wedding cake) !! I can’t think of anything that makes me happier than knowing we get to do this for the rest of our lives. How lucky are we?? I love you!!

 

5 thoughts on “Our Wedding: Revisited

  1. The best wedding I have ever attended… you both are amazing and deserve to have the most excellent life together. I love you both…. And it was awesome to read your post today.

  2. Pingback: Mulchin’ Mania | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

