HEYO Update!

I realize that I’ve been a terrible blogger lately, however, when I sit down and start writing I also immediately realize that there are so many things that I would rather be doing. With the holidays and a husband who just got home from a three month deployment, blogging has had to take a back seat. First off, I hope that each of you had a wonderful holiday season and aren’t suffering from the post Christmas/Holiday blues too badly.

Here’s a little peak into our life lately.

Christmas was wonderful. We spent Christmas Eve at my sister-in-law’s house. Dinner was delicious and the company was even better. We ate too much and consequently drank too much wine. There’s just something about holidays and eating too much food, isn’t there?

Christmas day followed in the same footsteps. We spent the day at my grandmother’s house surrounded by family. Alex was the life of the party and in turn – I was the one to drive home 🙂

We’ve had some furniture delivered over the last few weeks. In addition, we purchased some rugs, light fixtures, a TV, and a new fireplace insert.

I’d like to give you a tour of our new stuff.. Iphone photos won’t due though. We’ll have to touch back on that later.

Alex also has a new hobby. He bought an old wooden beam (White Oak) that was a support beam in an old, old house. He’s been sanding it down to create an awesome mantel for us. Although it still has a lot of work left – it’s already looking great! I can’t wait to see what it looks like over our new fireplace.

We’ve been spoiling the pups (Duh!). Most evening after we get home from work, this is what the remainder of our nights look like.

See the torture I’ve been going through?? I could either sit down to crank out a bunch of blog posts or I could cuddle with these guys next to the fire and drink hot chocolate. Which would you choose??

Exactly.

Besides that – my new job is still going swimmingly. I’ve said this before (and I’m sure you’ll hear it a million more times) but having a job that you are challenged by daily and thoroughly enjoy can completely change your life. If you’re unhappy in your current job role, I promise you — it will not hurt to look around and see what else is out there!

On another note, I’ve been completely engrossed by all of Steig Larsson’s books. I’m currently on the third (and final –Boo!) book of the The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series. The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is certainly not disappointing me! Alex humored me and accompanied me to the movies – and guess what – he liked it too! This is the kind of series that I know that I’ll feel devastated by when it’s done. Have you read any good books lately? I need something equally as consuming to read once these are finished.

Let’s see, we’ve talked about Christmas, the doggies, the husband, the house projects, books, and my job. What have we missed? The weather?

It’s freezing. Literally – FA-REEZING!

Fitness?

After a holiday hiatus, Alex and I are back to doing the Insanity workouts each night. It feels great to get back into a workout routine even though my calves feel like they are permanently on fire. I found this little gem in our First Aid box at work. Right now my sore muscles are mentholly fresh. Please note the “No unpleasant odor” label on the bottom of the packet.

Lies.

My cube smells like a mix of BenGay and rubbing alcohol. Kinda gross and definitely unpleasant.

I think that covers everything for now. What have you been up to lately?

4 thoughts on “HEYO Update!

    • I’m actually halfway through the series right now! This might sound silly — but my husband and I read it together before bed. We take turns reading out loud a chapter at a time. I’m a big fan so far! However, we don’t always feel like reading out loud each night so it’s taken us awhile to get through it. If it wazs just me — I would be zipping through them!!

  1. Pingback: Basically Free Chalkboard | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

