Let’s Talk About Books Baby

Let’s talk about you and me.

Hellllooooo! Tomorrow’s already Thursday!

I made a little comment on Sunday that I think I want to expand on. As I’ve mentioned, my commute went from a breezy 20 minutes with little to zero traffic to at least an hour. As such, you only can listen to a radio morning show for so many days in a row. You hear the same stories and every half hour you get a little tired of hearing the same old commercials.

I decided to get myself a library card and check out some books on CDs to make my commutes fly by. Now don’t go judging me yet!

Granted, if you don’t like to read then this wouldn’t be a feasible solution for you. However, if you find yourself easily wrapped up into a great story then why not? Why not multi-task while driving? You’re reading without the reading. You’re getting quality entertainment without flipping through the channels over and over again.

012

So, we covered books on CD. Check.

The first book that I started “reading” was A Stolen Life by Jaycee  Lee Dugard. This is a moving and horrific memoire about how Jaycee was abducted when she was 11 years old and endured 18 years of captivity where she gave birth to two healthy daughters.

Let me be completely honest here. Although the novel was very deep and overwhelmingly sad, it was not extremely well written. Jaycee was abducted when she was in the fifth grade. Unlike most authors I follow, she didn’t go to school for journalism and she hasn’t written dozens of novels. Don’t get me wrong, she is a much stronger woman than I to endure the torture for 18 years, but I wouldn’t necessarily call her a natural writer. It’s really hard to be at all critical with a story like this, it makes me feel like a bad person. BUT! It’s just my opinion.

I’ve now moved on to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stien Larsson. I’ve only heard such positive things about these books! However, I tried to give them a try myself about a year ago but at the time I had so much going on in my life that I couldn’t give it much of a chance to even get into it. Not this time!!

Before I go to bed each night, I’m also cracking up reading You Better not Cry by Augusten Burroughs. Have you ever read any of his books? They are seriously… soooo funny. If you haven’t read any start with Possible Side Effects. Assuming that you have half of a sense of humor (and don’t get offended easily), you’ll laugh.

Enough about books, Alex has probably already stopped reading by now. Have you made it? Before I get a disappointed phone call tomorrow morning, let me give you a few more pictures of the puppers.

014

023

028

001

Have you read any good books lately? Do you think I’m crazy for listening to books on my drive?

Leave a Reply

