You Are Not Even Going to Believe This

I promise.

Do you notice anything about about this picture?

017

No, not that I am being half-eaten by Bailey. Something else…

Give up?

My lips are no longer chapped!!

I have mentioned time and time again that over the last five weeks or so, but my lips have been horribly chapped lately. I’ve tried Neosporin, Vaseline, Hydrocortisone cream, Lanolin, and even Hydrogen Peroxide. 

They’ve gotten better and eventually they’ve gotten worse.

They’ve cracked, scabbed, burned, and every other nasty thing you can think of.

I literally thought that they were never going to get better. I did a crap ton of research online and have purchased nearly every cream that I read about. That is until this weekend…

While in West Virginia we stopped by the local Wal-Mart. One of the items on my list was Hydrocortisone cream since I disgustingly have used almost an entire tube on my current issue. While looking through the ton of medical creams, my eye caught Polysporin. I remember reading about it online so I figured that I might as well give it a shot.

Within hours my lips started to clear up. The next morning I woke up and they were healed.

HEALED.

I shit you not.

Today I sat down and planned to tell you about this miracle product but first, I needed to do a little research. Why did it start to work for me within hours? Why didn’t any of the other products work? What is Polysporin? Why had I never heard of or seen it before?

“Neosporin is an antibiotic with three components…neomycin sulfate, polymixin B sulfate and bacitracin…. Polysporin is a combination of two antibiotics, bacitracin zinc and polymixin B sulfate.”

Then I really started to wonder… why did two antibiotics work way better and way faster than three? What is neomycin sulfate and why wasn’t it helpful for me?

Then I read…

“If you are allergic to Penicillin, you should use Polysporin, instead of Neosporin to avoid potential hives.”

Do you remember how I told you a few days ago that I got Scarlet Fever in college and found out that I had AN ALLERGY TO PENICILLIN?

So…..

I had chapped lips and continued to put something on my lips that I was also allergic to? I was making it worse EVERY SINGLE DAY.

004

This is how I feel right now.

WAY TO GO — ME!

My mom laughed her butt off when I told her this story. I hardly find it funny (at least not yet!) Now I’m off to watch last night’s Dexter and head to bed early. I feel like I’m coming down with a cold so this girl will be resting a lot in the next few days. YAY!

4 thoughts on “You Are Not Even Going to Believe This

  1. Pingback: Odd Encounters | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

