Appreciation

There are so many moments in your life that are taken for granted daily. Doesn’t it always seem that you never truly realize everything that you have until, of course, it’s gone — even if only temporarily.

When your power goes off, you suddenly need to brighten your dark house.

When you have plumbing problems, you have never needed a shower so badly.

When your car sputters and craps on the side of the road, you have an interview that you need to get to.

When your husband goes out of town and all you can think of is him being there when you get home from work.

003

Why can’t we fully appreciate things while we still have them?

We take our health, our loved ones, our job security, our basic human essentials completely for granted until we realize that something is missing. Why?

I try not to live in regret and constantly think about what could have/should have been too often. Sometimes though – it’s hard to keep your mind from wandering. I wish that while Alex was here we took advantage of our time together every moment of the day. I look back and wish that we hadn’t spent nights watching mindless TV and numbingly searching the internet.

We could have taken more walks. We could have seen more friends. We could have made new friends. We occasionally had the stupidest arguments about I can’t even remember now. Were these arguments really meaningful if one month later I couldn’t even tell you what it was about? Obviously, not.

However, part of me feels fortunate that we get this opportunity to live apart for a few months. As much as I yearn to be able to call him on my way home and tell him all about my day,  if we didn’t get time apart then we wouldn’t realize how wonderful our life is when we’re together.

And unlike most couples, we always have something to look forward to. (You know, I’m really just try to stay positive here, folks!)

For now, I’m going to work on trying to appreciate things in the moment rather than looking back on things and realizing what I had.

001

2 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. This is a beautiful post. I wish there was something I could say that would help you get through this time, but really, only time and patience will help!

    This is also a great reminder for me to step off the computer, stop watching TV and spend quality time with my husband..so thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

