Your Opinion — Needed

Can I ask you something?

As you could see by this morning’s post, I was having a pretty good day! I’m not going to let this one little thing completely ruin my day, but I’d like to get your opinion. If I’m completely off-base, I’ll drop it and try not to think about it again. If I’m right, well… then I’m right and it will make me feel better.

I’ve mentioned this time and time again, but if you’re brand spankin’ new (welcome, by the way!) I work out at lunch during my work day. My work has a gym in one of our buildings (huge bonus!). Don’t get me wrong, I still have to pay for a membership – but it’s nice and convenient (and compared to most gyms – pretty cheap).

I used to go to the gym before my work day started, but now that I work from 6:45 – 3:45 every day, that would be nearly impossible. By the time my day is over — I just wanna go home. I don’t want to work out. That’s about all there is to it.

The only thing about my job is that there is not a lot of flexibility with lunches, shifts, breaks and so on. My lunch hour has to be an hour or less. Not 65 minutes or even 61, I have to be back at my desk at 60 minutes flat. You get used to it, I promise!

At the gym, there are multiple exercise classes throughout the day. Unfortunately, my old lunch hour always seemed to miss them. This week though, my lunch was moved from 12-1 indefinitely. This means that I would always be able to make the classes!! You can imagine how excited I was.

Now, every class is an hour. Remember that thing that I told you about? That my lunch hour is an hour, exactly?? Yeah. With that in mind, I have to leave the class about 10 minutes early so that I can shower and run back to my desk. Are you with me so far?

Since there is limited space, you are required to sign up for the class ahead of time (like most gyms!). This morning I signed up for cycling and was super pumped up. All day I was looking forward to it. It was an awesome class and a fantastic work out! I left feeling strong, confident, and tired. As I passed by the desk on my way out, one of the staff members for the gym stopped me.

“Did you take today’s class too,” she said. They see me almost every day, but I never take classes. I wasn’t surprised that they were shocked to see me in them multiple days in a row.

I proceeded to tell her about how my lunch was moved and now I would be able to catch all the classes. Here’s where things start to go down hill.

“So, your plan is to take classes and leave early every day? So, you’re going to take a spot away from someone who could stay the entire hour even though you can’t,” she snapped with an annoying smile.

Basically, I fumbled over my words and quickly left. (Way to stand up for myself!)

Here are my thoughts:

  • First – I can see her point. Someone else COULD use that spot that could possibly stay the whole time
  • However – I still PAY to go there.
  • It’s not like I’m choosing to leave. They all know about my 60 min max lunch.
  • And – I signed up ahead of time.
  • Someone else could have easily signed up before me and taken my spot.
  • Here’s the killer – other people leave the classes early too

I should let it go. Whenever something like this happens, I always think, “Fine! I’ll just go find a new gym!” Because I’m really mature and five years old.

Anyway – PLEASE tell me. Do you agree with me? Or do you think that I should let someone else have my spot that has the possibility to get the entire hour in?

In other news — I had the world’s best strawberries today. At least something is still going right!

6 thoughts on “Your Opinion — Needed

  1. I would stay! Most gyms have a first come, first serve and if you signed up, it’s fair! Whatever, she’s a brat for making you feel bad!

  2. I think it’s fair because you signed up. And you mentioned only having to leave around 10 mins early so you’re likely only missing the stretch/cooldown portion which lots of people skip out on anyways. I would say if you were missing the last 20+ minutes then maybe choose your absolute favorites to go to and let other members have space in other classes you don’t love, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Keep doing what you’re doing!

  3. Strawberries = yum. Wow! That is so awesome! We have equipment and classes two days a week at our work, but it’s not very mandatory that we be back within an hour. I admire you for spending your lunch hour exercising. I don’t. I should, but I don’t. I don’t want to be sweaty and uncomfortable all day. So I aim for the evenings. Anyway, I don’t think you should feel bad at all! You deserve to be there and it’s not your fault you have to leave early. Keep doing what you’re doing! Or maybe just do classes a few days a week and just use the gym otherwise?

  4. If it’s definitely less than 15 minutes and you’re always on time (IE. not arriving late and leaving late thus disrupting the class twice), I’d say that it is fine…you are paying the same as everyone else and entitled to make as much use of the gym as you can. As you said…it’s first come first serve. I’d just make sure to always take a bike/mat at the back of the room

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons to Stand up for Yourself! | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

