WV Trip Part 1

Over this past Memorial Day weekend, six of us packed our bags and headed to West Virginia. If you’re a new reader let me fill you in a bit. My family has a house two and a half hours away from our home in MD. The 350 acre property was originally purchased by my dad’s dad many, many years ago.

As a child, I have vivid memories are romping around the property finding animal bones in the creek and being chased by cows. We often made the journey on long holiday weekends and helped tend to the property while my grandfather was in the hospital. After he passed away (I was in high school), he left the property to my dad.

A large portion of the land has since been sold to a developer. The land that I grew up loving with hard, cracked dirt roads now has high speed internet. Yes, a lot has changed over the years but to me, it’s still that oasis of relaxation tucked away in the West Virginia mountains.

It’s that place that no matter what’s going on at home or at work, once you turn off the main road – you find your mind lost in tranquility. Rather than sitting around the campfire dwelling on your ever-growing list of things to do, you let your thoughts drift up to the stars. With no town nearby, no streetlights, and no chaos — the night sky is simply waiting to be explored.

This weekend was no different than those of my childhood. We had fun doing nothing. We enjoyed our daily trip into the closest town and we even had a really exciting day trip. On Sunday, we stumbled upon a beautiful creek along the side of the road and couldn’t help but to stop.

DSC_0665

DSC_0666

Of course, we had to take a group picture!

DSC_0671

If you squint hard enough, you’ll be able to make out Alex and Joe.

DSC_0674

Can you believe this was just on the side of the road?

DSC_0683

We realized that it would be a perfect place for portraits!

DSC_0689

DSC_0692

DSC_0699

DSC_0700

DSC_0703

DSC_0705

DSC_0706

And before I let you go, one more picture just for good measure.

DSC_0673

I’ll see you tomorrow for our weekend recap number two… This one will contain all the fun!! (Think four wheelers, drinks, and BB guns) —- not all at once though Winking smile

I’m off to go read before bed! I’m almost done one book (The Hunger Games) and about 1/3 of the way through another (The Life of Pi). How does this keep happening??

See you tomorrow! Goodnight!!

4 thoughts on “WV Trip Part 1

  1. This is so pretty! I really like the picture of you and your mom. I went to Great Falls in VA on Monday. If you haven’t been already, it’s worth the trip.

    How do you like Life of Pi? It’s been on my mental must-read list for a while now:)

Leave a Reply

