Wedding Hair Disaster Part Deux

It is official kiddos, I am finally feeling all that wedding stress. Throughout the last year, I have applauded myself with being a relaxed, relatively stress-free bride-to-be. Well, the tables have changed my friends. I feel that I could pull my hair out at any moment.

Remember the hair-trial disaster? Apparently that was nothing! I scheduled an appointment for my second trial with my second hairstylist for Saturday morning. I should have known from the get-go that it wasn’t going to work out. Since I wake up so early (5am) to get to work every day, it’s almost impossible for me to sleep past 7:30 even on the weekends. I intentionally did not turn on an alarm on Friday night since my trial wasn’t until 9am.

It was a rainy, dark morning making it super easy to keep sleeping. I woke up randomly and checked my phone.

8:58. Crap!

I jumped out of bed, ran in to the bathroom, brushed my teeth, threw on jeans and sprinted out the door. Thankfully, the hair salon is only a few miles from my house, so I wasn’t more than a couple minutes late. We started with a hair cut before moving on to the trial.

First, I’ll start with something positive:

They didn’t butcher my hair cut, which is way more important than a hair trial that will stay in place for a matter of hours.

Now we’ll move on to the negative:

  • She started by curling my entire head. She thought we would try a different style of curl to be more “Taylor Swift-ish.”

I’m getting married, I’m not going to the Country Music Awards. Although Taylor Swift is gorgeous, my wedding day inspiration is not a pre-teen boy fantasy.

  • Then we looked through photographs of my first trial and discussed what I liked and did not like about that hair style. (Okay, maybe this won’t be so bad after all!)

 

  • She then proceeded to try and try and try new styles on me. (Please don’t test new techniques on a nervous and already frustrated bride. Honestly, I don’t care if you get to test skills that you just learned in a seminar this past weekend. I want you to know what your doing. Is that too much to ask?)

 

  • “How do you like this?” she would ask me every now and then.

“Should we look at the pictures of the first trial again? Honestly, so far this looks nothing like the hair style I asked for,” I responded.

The entire process was awful. After TWO HOURS of sitting there, I finally said “it looks fine.” I immediately started crying while looking in the mirror. It was an absolutely pitiful sight. I sniffled my way to check out and headed out the door. I didn’t make a single phone call on my way home, I just drove in the pouring down rain in tears. Isn’t it funny how the weather tends to mirror your mood?

I walked in the door and Alex called down to me.

“Hey Babe, how’s it looks?”

I didn’t even respond. I just walked up the stairs and right in to his arms as I continued to cry.

Looking back on it, it really was just the compounding stress of a pending wedding only weeks away, preparing our home for multiple sets of out of town guests, a shitty hairstyle, and all the last second odds and ends to throw together. Each person that saw me throughout the day responded to me by saying, “well, it doesn’t look hideous.”

I’m not sure about you, but I don’t want to just not look hideous on my wedding. I want to look good. I want to look damn good. Maybe that’s just me though?

I have found a new hair salon altogether. Do you know how hard it is to make an appointment for six people to get their hair done with less than three weeks notice? HARD! I also have yet to cancel all my appointments there. I don’t care if they have giant hole in their schedule that day. (I will cancel them though, just not right now.)

Tomorrow night after work I will be getting my third and hopefully final hair trial for the wedding. Last night we ran out to stock up on food for the folks that will be staying with us, tonight I’m going to my final dress fitting and will hopefully have the dress in my possession this evening, tomorrow is the hair trial, and Thursday night will be a meet-up with our super-cute flower girl! I have been one busy, busy girl. I feel like if one more thing goes wrong, I’m going to absolutely collapse.

Wish me luck. I need it.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Hair Disaster Part Deux

  1. Awww, sweetie! I’m so sorry 😦 I know how hard it is when you just get your hair butchered, but to have someone not listen to you is just terrible!! 😦 I’m sure everything will work out, hopefully this new salon is fantastic. I’d try maybe looking it up on yelp?

    I’m sure it will all come together 🙂

Leave a Reply

