Who are you when you’re all alone?

There’s a song that has recently really stuck with me. Every time I hear it on the radio I find myself lost in my own daydreams. If you don’t listen to country music at all then I’m sure you’ve never heard this song. Even if you don’t like this type of music, you should take a look at the words.

The song is “Who are you when I’m not looking,” by Blake Shelton.

If you don’t have the ability to watch this video (aka you’re at work and they block Youtube like mine does) at least take a moment to read a few of these lyrics.

My, oh, my, you’re so good looking
Hold yourself together like a pair of bookends
But I’ve not tasted all you’re cooking
Who are you when I’m not looking

Do you pour a little something on the rocks
Slide down the hallway in your socks
When you undress, do you leave a path
Then sink to your nose in a bubble bath
……..

Do you break things when you get mad
Eat a box of chocolate cause you’re feeling bad
Do you paint your toes cause you bite your nails
And call up mama when all else fails

Who are you when I’m not around
When the door is locked and the shades are down
Do you listen to your music quietly
And when it feels just right are you thinking of me?

For some reason, this song just gets to me! Everyone is different when they’re around others than when they’re alone. Even when your with your closet friends and family (including your spouse!) there are still things you hold back on.

Do you sing at the top of your lungs and dance around the house in your undies?

Do you get lost in a good book and curl up under a blanket to read for hours?

Do you experiment in the kitchen? If you were with other people would you stick to recipes that you know would turn out tasty?

Do you sit out on the deck, crack open a beer, and just enjoy the silence?

Now that I think of all these things, I can’t help but wonder what other people.

When you’re in the comfort of your own home with the knowledge that not only is no one around, but no one is watching you — what do you do???

Guess who had her first wedding dress fitting yesterday?

This girl!

 

5 thoughts on “Who are you when you’re all alone?

  1. I love that song…and so smart of you to put the lyrics in…Youtube is blocked here where I work…those huge blank spaces in blogs are so frustrating!!

    When I am home alone…I don’t bother with makeup, I don’t brush my hair…and I eat Nutella straight from the jar!!

  2. I make giant messes in the kitchen and don’t clean it up for days…even tho I get on Ale about putting stuff in the dishwasher when we’re both home 😛 Yay for dress fitting!

  3. Post dress fitting pics!!! Please 🙂 I miss all that excitement. I had to hear this somg. Those lyrics are great. We are our truest version of ourselves when nobody is watching. So true. I may have to post about this very idea. Thanks for the inspiration!
    xo
    Mindy

Leave a Reply

