Smiles ‘N Bed

Not smiles in bed. Smiles and bed.

First off, I told you I would be back with a smile!

Hey!

I passed my test yesterday! After over a month of studying every day, it feels nice to have that bad boy done! Hopefully I’ll be done with my licensing for awhile and won’t try to tackle another test for some time. I’m really looking forward to not working at home. It has been such a drag to finish a long day of work with the knowledge that I still have a couple hours of studying in front of me.

This whole testing process has given me such respect for people who go back to school while still working a full time job. Throw in kids and a husband to that mix and my mind cannot even comprehend that level of stress.

I’m back to taking silly photos.

Hunterbud!

Upside-down-dog

Waaaah

I’m also back to wedding planning. Invitations are in the midst of being addressed, I have an appointment with my florist on Saturday, and I will be ordering favor stuff and centerpiece pieces shortly. My bridal shower is coming up in a couple weeks and of course, I’m getting unbelievably excited!

The first thing on my list of things to do though is have a glass of wine. This girl needs to relax!

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m going to start giving you small glimpses into our home. We still have a long way to go, but we’re both extremely happy with the work we’ve done already. What better place to start than our bed??

First off let me say that we have a bedroom the size of a shopping mall. We both knew that our queen-sized bed wasn’t going to work out. Before we moved in, we ordered a heck of a lot of new furniture. One of our new pieces is our king-sized bed and mattress.

This was a bad idea.

Our new mattress is so comfortable that getting out of bed in the morning is even more of a process than normal. I would gladly quit my job, stop showering, and live in bed if that was acceptable. Unfortunately bills have to be paid and I can’t logistically find a way to make living in bed possible.

Since we got a size bed, we clearly needed new bedding as well!

My life.

We spent a lot of money on our bedding. The way we justified this was:

  • Out of every place in your house, you spent most of your time in bed.
  • We’re going to have the bedding for many years, so between the two of us over a span of time our bedding will cost less than a dollar for every night we sleep on it.

We originally looked at bedding at Restoration Hardware for ideas. As far as bedding goes, I always do a ton of hunting before I purchase anything. Over the years, I’ve found that Overstock usually has great bedding for reasonable prices. Unfortunately after we found our dream bedding at Restoration Hardware, nothing else compared. We looked for weeks.

We finally decided to splurge and buy the duvet covers and shams.

Ahhh...

Everything else I bought online though. I bought our sheets from Amazon and our actual duvet from Overstock. I ended up spending less than a hundred dollars for 1500 thread count sheets. The first night we slept on them, Alex was unsure of whether he liked them. Our last sheets were thicker and more sturdy. These are definitely not thick, but they feel like butter when you get in bed at night.

They’re just white. Nothing fancy.

Our bedroom is far from finished though. Painting is coming up this weekend! We’re starting with our dreaded mint Crest green basement. We still have a lot of decorating to do too, as you can see by our empty bookcase.

Empty

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Smiles ‘N Bed

  1. Your room looks beautiful…and I think Hunter makes it even better looking.

    Good job on your test. I will tell you that working full time and going back to school has been one of the hardest things I’ve done. Can’t wait for it to be done 🙂

  2. What a comfortable looking bed…and what gorgeous hard wood floors…I am soooo jealous! My new house has an awful combination of three nasty carpets and three kinds of vinyl flooring…only the basement ie “man Cave” has hardwood!

  3. Pingback: Our lovely painted basement « Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

