Holiday Blues

I get so excited for the holidays that after they’re over, I find myself down in the dumps.

These are some thoughts that are always floating around my head:

  • How did Christmas pass so quickly?
  • What am I going to do with myself now?
  • Do I have to take the tree down?
  • Could I be one of those families that just never take their Christmas stuff down?
  • There’s no way I can wait another whole year
  • WHY???

I’m trying to keep myself occupied to order to keep my thoughts from this type of downward spiral.

Thankfully we have to start thinking about packing for the new house, so I have something to keep me out of despair. Last night after I got home from work, Alex and I headed over to Hobby Lobby. Not only did I trick myself into thinking it was still Christmas by buying more decorations (I mean hey! they’re all 50% off!!), we also started buying a couple things for the home.

Last night we picked up a couple paintings for our walls. One is going to be hung in our basement near our bar and the other will probably find it’s new home in our dining room.

We both know that owning a new home will be a work in progress, but we’re hoping it won’t be completely empty when we move in. We have a ton of stuff. Well, let me rephrase that… We have a ton of stuff for a little apartment. We have a little stuff for a big house.

We have an ever growing list of things that we want for the house. Some things of course are more pressing to purchase than others. Some things we’ve been contemplating include:

  • A living room set (couches, coffee/end tables, and maybe even an entertainment center!)
  • Rugs (kind of important considering most of the house has hardwood floors)
  • Bar Stools??
  • Art, mirrors, and other decorations for our big, bare walls

And speaking of walls…. Man, oh man, do we need to paint?!?!

And.. we need to change the light fixtures. And.. we need to change the terrible locks they have now. And.. we need to figure out the electrical mess they have goin’ on. And…. a million other things.

Wow, this owning a home thing isn’t going to be stressful at all — is it??

Other News

Now that the holidays are just about wrapped up, it’s time to get back on the healthy train. It’s easy to get yourself caught up in lifestyle of over indulging. We can’t live like that forever though, so it’s time to get yourself back on track. Here’s an article that I ran across on CNN today — if you want to get back in shape quick, definitely give it a quick look-see.

For some reason I wrote this entire post yesterday but forgot to post it — what’s wrong with me??

Happy Hump Day!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Blues

  1. That CNN article sounds like just I need right now, I definitely overindulged this past week! Yay new house stuff! When we moved into our condo, we had nothing and acquired tons of stuff for this little space but I know that once we move out to a house, it’ll seem like nothing! Good luck with it all!

  2. I get depressed when the holidays are over too. Taking the tree down is the most sad thing!! My husband is the same way. To try to fix this, we started a little tradition. We book a 4 or 5 day trip for February instead of spending tons of $$ on gifts. It gives us something to look forward to. It doesn’t fix the post holiday blues completely, but it gives a shiny light at the end of the tunnel.
    xo
    Mindy

Leave a Reply

