Feelin’ Lucky

Do you ever have one of those days where you can’t help but to feel lucky?

It’s so easy to go through life waiting for something. I often find myself thinking, “when I get                I’ll be really happy” or “things will be so much easier once                     happens.” Once the newness of whatever you were waiting for wears off, you find yourself searching for something else to fill that “one of these days” void.

Why are we always waiting for something to happen in the future to be happy now? How does that make any sense?

This past weekend was so full. We had so many activities scheduled and were surrounded by people we really care about. I couldn’t help but find myself completely lost in it all. We’ve been so busy trying to find a car, meeting with our realtor, studying for my exam, and having guests from out of town. This weekend was different. We weren’t dictated by things that we had to get done; we simply did what we wanted. I wanted to wrap my arms around the weekend and never let it go.

We made chili and we baked cookies. We had a happy hour with neighbors. We played games and man, did we laugh. We slept on the floor in front of the fire in our fire place. We had big breakfasts and warm coffee. We took long doggie walks and went to church.

It made me realize that there’s no use waiting for something to happen to finally feel happy. Although it’ll be nice when we buy our first home and get settled in, I don’t want to count on it for my happiness. I’m happy now.

I have a wonderful family that is always there no matter what. I have a wonderful fiancé who puts my happiness before his own. I have a dog that gives unconditional love. I have friends that fill my life with purpose and laughter. Material goods cannot compare to the happiness other people can provide. I know that not everyone can say those same things and for that I feel exceptionally lucky.

🙂

What makes you feel lucky?

This is my happiness…

My boys 🙂

2 thoughts on “Feelin’ Lucky

  1. I try to tell Ale that everyday! To enjoy the here and now! We aren’t guaranteed tomorrow and there’s no need to put all your eggs in the basket of the future, bc when it comes down to it, life’s not so bad after all. And like this post has proven, it’s actually pretty awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

