A Post to Pops

Every Friday I look forward to reading Lisa’s Flashback Friday post. She’s always so unbelievably honest that it really is inspiring. She’s talked about sensitive topics with grace. Nothing is off limit’s with Lisa and that’s something I adore.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been reading a lot about Lisa’s relationship with her Dad, maybe it’s this time of year, maybe it’s because I don’t talk about it much — but I’ve spent so much time lately thinking about my Pops. If you haven’t checked out my About Me section, my dad passed away from cancer in May 2008. He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer halfway through my freshman year of college. Everything about that journey was hard.

There are so many things that I could focus on during that sixteen month period my dad was sick. I could spend hours telling you about things that I wish I had done, things that seemingly tore our family apart, and how hard it was to watch your dad fight through each and every day.

I’m not going to though.

I’d rather tell you about how great my dad was. Of course I’ll always be sad that he’s gone and it will never be OKAY that it happened, but I hope to always look back on his memory with a smile rather than tears. There’s no doubt that he shaped who I am today and for that he deserves props 🙂

So — here goes:

First and foremost, my dad had the spirit of a child. He was always the first to jump in the water. He was the uncle that would always take you on boat rides. Not only did he take you on a boat ride, but you would always come back to the house soaking wet. You could probably tell exactly what his spirit was like by looking in our garage. Throughout his life he owned a variety of “big boy toys.” After the boat farted out, there was the four wheeler, the jetski, the snow blower, the high tech lawn mower, and of course the Harley.

Out on the water

Always outdoors

Not only was my dad a child at heart, he was always a man’s man. He loved the weather channel. You could find him snoozing on his favorite chair “watching” what he would call a “bang bang shoot ’em up movie” on that old western channel.

He always had a project. We were never a family to hire a plumber when we had problems — Pops could fix anything. He would take things completely apart, just to put them back together. You should have seen him piddling (is that a word?) around the house in WV. And of course — we were always put to work! “Let’s cut down that tree, split it, stack it, and load it on the truck to go home…”

Piddling

And boy, did my dad have a sense of humor! I remember every time we took a friend up to WV he would ask them after we’ve been in the car for a few hours —

“Are you okay with sleeping in the woods?”

“We don’t have running water, you know?”

“I hope you’re not afraid of mountain lions.

And he was handsome too!

And no one could forget when you would ask him a question where the answer was clearly yes, he would respond with…

“Is the Pope Catholic? Does a bear shit in the woods? Would a HOBO like a ham sandwich?”

So here’s to you Dad. To a wonderful life, full of love and laughter. For teaching me how to be an honorable person, who, of course, doesn’t take life too seriously. I miss you each and every day and hope that I continually make you proud.

And to everyone else… Go give your dad a hug. Life really does change in a blink of an eye. Don’t just call your mom to tell her what you’ve been up to, call your dad too!

The one and only Super Dave!

9 thoughts on “A Post to Pops

  1. Of course, the one time you say this, I don’t do a Flashback Friday. It’ll be back next week. And thank you for the kind words–seriously, so nice.

    I have tears in my eyes now. He sounds like a wonderful wonderful man that was just a joy to be around. Thanks for sharing.

    I also agree with what you said. I wrote a letter to my dad and plan on giving it to him when I see him very soon since he moved back. I thought about mailing it, but I want to give it to him in person. Let him read it when I’m there and make sure to give him a hug and SAY thank you in person.

    I worry for his health (heart issues) so I know I must value my time with him, even if I don’t always enjoy it, because I love him.

  2. This was such a nice post. I am glad I took a look today. I smiled the whole way through it. Dave will always be remembered with a smile. 🙂

  3. No I’m not color blind
    I know the world is black and white
    Try to keep an open mind but…
    I just can’t sleep on this tonight
    Stop this train I want to get off and go home again
    I can’t take the speed it’s moving in
    I know I can’t
    But honestly won’t someone stop this train

    Don’t know how else to say it, don’t want to see my parents go
    One generation’s length away
    From fighting life out on my own

    Stop this train
    I want to get off and go home again
    I can’t take the speed it’s moving in
    I know I can’t but honestly won’t someone stop this train

    So scared of getting older
    I’m only good at being young
    So I play the numbers game to find away to say that life has just begun
    Had a talk with my old man
    Said help me understand
    He said turn 68, you’ll renegotiate
    Don’t stop this train
    Don’t for a minute change the place you’re in
    Don’t think I couldn’t ever understand
    I tried my hand
    John, honestly we’ll never stop this train

    See once in a while when it’s good
    It’ll feel like it should
    And they’re all still around
    And you’re still safe and sound
    And you don’t miss a thing
    ’til you cry when you’re driving away in the dark.

    Singing stop this train I want to get off and go home again
    I can’t take this speed it’s moving in
    I know I can’t
    Cause now I see I’ll never stop this train

  4. I know your Dad would have been very proud of the wonderful young woman you have become. I’m sure he is smiling down on you now. He was a great husband, Dad, brother-in-law and uncle. I think the whole family misses Super Dave!!!!

  5. You really made me wish even more that I would have been able to meet your Dad. I can see how wonderful he was and how his legacy lives on every day in the way your family lives their lives. I miss him and I never even knew him! Thank you for this wonderful post.

  6. Pingback: Where we’ve been & where we’re going « Life With a Crazy Pup

  7. Pingback: 24 Things I’ve Learned at 24 | Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

