A Growing To-Do List

Do you have any advice for getting motivated to start checking things off your To-Do list?

It seems like every day I’ve been adding more and more things to my ever growing list of things to do. The more things I add to the list, the less I want to do them. This confuses me. Shouldn’t I want to get things done so that it stays short and sweet?? Apparently not. Apparently I’m trying to make my life really unpleasant when these tasks actually need to be done now, rather than soon.

Every night I get home from work and my night looks like this:

  • Walk in the door, drop off my stuff.
  • Take the dog out.
  • Feed the dog.
  • Wash my lunch dishes and make dinner.
  • Eat dinner.
  • Take the dog on a walk.

At this point in the night I usually have about 30 free minutes before I start to get ready for bed. I’m usually exhausted and either A) take a bath, B) read a book, or C) do nothing.

This girl is tired.

When am I going to have time to:

  • Order more Save the Dates
  • Address about 150 of them
  • Actually get the remaining address’ from Alex’s work buddies
  • Clean (the bathrooms)
  • Clean (the floors)
  • Clean (everything else?)
  • Study for my exam for work
  • Send our numerous, numerous emails to vendors (hello caterer, bakery, florist, DJs), bridesmaids/groomsmen.. etc. etc.

You know… stuff.

Maybe the “To-Do List Fairy” will magically start crossing tasks off my list. No? Well I better get to it then. And I will start by going to the movies tonight with my mom and Donna to finally watch the newest Twilight movie.

Way to go procrastination.

I feel like I’m in college again.

Or high school.

I did find invitations that I really liked. I’ve sent them off to the man for his “approval.”

Please give me some advice to help me get all this stuff done.

Ahhh! What do I do!

One thought on “A Growing To-Do List

  1. You’re talking to the Queen of List Making and Procrastination here. One way that sort of motivates me for starting to get things crossed off is to write down easy things on the list that I’ve a) already completed or b) am doing at the moment I create my list. It’s always easier to start gettin’ stuff done when you’ve already done it:) I like to reward myself for doing things that I should be doing by “giving” myself time for fun things. Really this means instead of sitting and reading for fun before I go out to meet people, I do a load of laundry or make out bills. Structure is good for me, and might be for you too, especially if you’re a list person!

    P.S.-I always thought my parents were ridiculous people for saying they never had time during the week to get stuff done. Now I know how they feel! I really need to clean…but when I get home that notion is completely undesirable.

Leave a Reply

