Mourning Mornings

So I started a new shift at work. Instead of working from 9-6 every day, I now work from 8:20-5:20. It’s definitely nice to get out of work a little earlier, but at the same time — it’s been really hard adjusting in the morning. Normally I would get up at 5:45 to leave for the gym by 6:15, now I need to wake up by 5:15. For some reason getting up a half hour earlier has been kicking my butt!

Yesterday morning I rolled out bed and was intensely sore from my first spinning class on Tuesday. It was dark out and I could barely walk, so instead of throwing on my gym clothes – I simply rolled back into bed. I headed to the gym on my lunch break and had a nice long stretch followed by some ab and back work.

Today I had another internal battle when my alarm rang. I finally got out of bed at 5:30 (not too shabby). It still took me forever to get out of the house though! When I got to the gym I decided to let my sore, achy body rest a little more. I took my second class at the gym at work, a class called Fit Ball. Although it wasn’t a particularly challenging cardio class like Bootcamp cycling, I still got a lot out of it. It was a full body strength training work out using a stability ball.

What I wish I was doing...

Do you have any tips to adjust to an earlier morning schedule?

Today is Friday for me 🙂 I’m taking the day off tomorrow to spend a long weekend with Alex before he leaves. He also has the day off to prepare himself for leaving so we’ll have a nice day together tomorrow! Saturday afternoon my mom and I are having a Going Away party for him at her house. I’m sure it’ll be nice for Alex to see that we have such a strong support system! Thanks again to everyone for being there for us!

Alex (not the mister, but the bridesmaid) has recently become certified to become a Yoga instructor. In order for her to start practicing she needs a certain amount of hours teaching people. A group of us agreed that we’d love to be her Ginny pigs, so on Saturday we’re taking Alex’s first yoga class. I’m pretty excited about it! I’ll keep ya posted 😉

Check out this awesome picture!

Future Me

Have you taken yoga before? Do you like it and have tips for beginners?

One thought on “Mourning Mornings

  1. it’s a challenge when you have to get up earlier than usual. If I have to get up early the next morning, I try to get in bed an hour before my usual bedtime. It helps me.

    I loooooove yoga!!! It’s a different kind of workout. It challenges you to be still, calm, and push yourself beyond what you’re capable of. I think yoga is important to practice esp. if you run and do other high impact activities. I have never been flexible until I began doing yoga. I loved it ’cause it prevented me from getting injured. 🙂 You should try it out, girl!

Leave a Reply

