Beer Butt Chicken

Jo Hutch is an amazing cook. Every time she cooks for me, I pick up handy tips and delicious new recipes. As with most females I have an intense fear of the grill. When I cook anything I want to feel confident that I’m putting it at the correct temperature. I know that it takes a certain amount of time to cook chicken, fish, or casseroles at a specific temp. I’m afraid of the grill – as simple as that.

All I can say is that I’m not a dude.

But I idolize women who have conquered the grill.

One being Jo Hutch.

I’ve had this recipe a few times over the last few years and finally decided it’s time to try it out. A big props goes to Alex for doing the majority of the grilling 🙂

Beer Butt Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 T sea salt
  • 2 tsp dry yellow mustard
  • 1 full chicken

Directions:

Rinse and dry chicken. Empty out 1/2 beer. Place in old pan. Spray outside of can with pam. Place chicken on beer can and in holder (if you have one). Rub the chicken with olive oil. Then apply rub. Bake in oven or in a closed grill until done.

(Normally you’ll want to use smaller chickens (around 5-7 pounds). If you’re making chicken for more than a couple people — use two chickens and twice the amount of rub)

Mix your spices - and tempt your pup

Lather those bad boys up

Take some chickeny photos

And of you man grillin' 'em up!

And finally carve them before you starve!

Leave a Reply

