Spring Cleaning

Have you ever gone through your Facebook account and realized either A) there are some people you’re “friends” with that you really don’t know at all and/or B) you’re “friends” with some people that you really don’t want knowing all the details of your life? Well this weekend I answer yes to both of these questions. When I first went to college and facebook was all the rage, I was friending people who I might have seen in a class, a party, or around campus. There was an unspoken competition to see how many people who could be friends with.

Now that I’m older and infinitely more mature, I realized as I was scrolling through my “friends” that in reality I am not friends with over 1,300 people. I decided it was time to do a little spring cleaning, if you will. I nixed over 500 people. With the 700 folks I have left, I still feel as though this is a little out of hand. To delete friends I asked myself some questions:

  • Have I talked to this person in a year?
  • Would I care if I never talked to them again?
  • Have I ever considered myself to be good friends with this person?
  • Do I regularly look at their profile?
  • Do I want him/her to have the ability to see m profile, see my blog site, and know what I do on a day-to-day basis?

I still feel as though I have more “cleaning out” to do, but have taken a hiatus for the time being (I only can be on Facebook for so long before I get really annoyed).

Anyways – here’s what I’ve been up to:

It’s been absolutely beautiful outside for the past five days or so. I’ve really been taking advantage of this and have taken a nice long walk each day. It’s funny how one season of bitter cold and a record snow fall can make you appreciate such trivial things like driving with your windows down. Yesterday and I drove through town, I couldn’t help but smile as the wind whipped through my hair. The days are getting longer. Each morning when I roll out of bed to take Hunter out and it’s not pitch black out, I break out in song and dance. Well no, I don’t actually start singing My Favorite Things, but I definitely feel like doing so. There’s just something about the change of seasons that puts a little pep in my step.

Spring is a-comin'

Alex is still out of town and won’t be home till the 17th. We’ve been able to talk most days, so it’s not too hard. I’ve been babysitting most days and yesterday baked some sugar cookies with the kiddos. I’ve recently been going back and watching some TV shows that are really popular, but since I didn’t watch them when they first came out – I’ve never started to watch them. This past week I’ve started watching Lost. I’m almost through the first season and I can definitely tell why it was so hyped up. I’m still confused as to how there are two TV shows with a Dr. Sheppard who happens to be a neurosurgeon. You would think that one of the shows would have done a quick name change.

My back started feeling better from the last spasm/incident this weekend and I’ve been working out again. Yesterday I did a pretty intense 20-minute long ab workout and followed it up with Jillian Michael’s Banish Fat Boost Metabolism . It’s really tough. The more you do it, the easier it gets (like all things). The first time I did this work out I thought I was going to die. Now I’ve done it a few times and it’s not too bad.

Eats – I’ve mainly been eating some variation of oatmeal in the morning. I eat High Fiber Maple Syrup oatmeal and all bananas, apple sauce, cinnamon, peanut butter.. etc etc. For lunch I’ve been eating a sandwich – Sunday I had a Tuna salad sandwich – yesterday I made a pizza open-faced sandwich. While the pizza sandwich was tasty, it was not filling. I also had a banana and a Rice Cake with a Laughing Cow wedge on top. This morning I’ve actually been slacking because I had a phone interview at 8:30. I haven’t actually eaten breakfast yet, and will probably have more of a brunch.

Soon I’ll be leaving for my first physical therapy appointment. Mainly we’ll just be compiling a home-exercise plan to strengthen up my lower back. Before I go:

This week’s postsecret:

Song of the week: Everything by Michael Buble

Book I’m reading : gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson

Quote: “Your imagination is your preview of life’s coming attractions” Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

