Happy Weekend!

Hello all, happy weekend! I have had a crazy couple of days and want to give you all some updates.

First and foremost, our household is having some technical computer problems. Alex’s computer is being stubborn and refuses to connect to the wireless internet. It doesn’t seem like a big deal, but once you no longer have the luxury of wireless internet you realize how important it is to be on the internet and be sitting on the couch at the same time. Normally I wouldn’t care at all, but yesterday when I woke up my computer has graciously provided me with a wonderful virus. This is the second time in three months that I’ve received this wonderful gift, and I am absolutely thrilled. So, in the meantime I will not be using my computer and will be stuck sitting in our office alone and cold. (I’m very dramatic)

I finally got to the doctor’s office for my back on Thursday. I guess I was just hoping for a quick fix – “Take this medicine and you’ll feel better” or “Don’t exercise for two weeks” were options I was ready and willing to deal with. Unfortunately this is not my case. Apparently the disc (shock absorber) that sits between my lowest vertebrae and my fused bone is degenerating. What? Yep. This isn’t something that can be fixed nor healed miraculously with medicine. I will have to grunt and bear with the pain. I was ordered to physical therapy to build up my lower back muscles so my body can learn to start using them as shock absorbers rather than my actual spine. I’m thrilled. There’s nothing like going to the doctor’s and finding out that I will be cursed with a bad back for the rest of my life. Apparently this condition is extremely rare for my age (which is even cooler). Oh and I also found out that I have a slight scoliosis.

Enough with the bad news. It’s a beautiful weekend and the temperatures have skyrocketed to the 50s! I’ve been taking complete advantage of this and have taken the Pooper for 3.5 mile walks the last two days. I’ve taken some great pictures and will post them soon. If you look close enough (or have an awesome magnifying lens) you can see that most of the trees have little red buds on them. Spring is approaching and I considered getting the bathing suit out and catching some rays. Sadly 50 degrees is deceiving and not actually that warm. I also had a job interview on Thursday and it went really well. I don’t want to jinx it, but I’ll keep you in the loop.

On to the meals — Thursday night I got to hang out with Rachel. Her birthday was the following day so we went out to dinner. We split a Spinach Alfredo flatbread pizza! It was delicious, I didn’t have my camera but it looked this:

Yummy Pizza

Yesterday for breakfast I had a banana smoothie and an english muffin with peanut butter. For lunch I had a Sandwich Thin with BBQ chicken and some pickles and nuts. For dinner I had a combination of leftovers from the past week.

Today I had high fiber oatmeal with a smooshed banana and a hunch of peanut butter mixed in. It was really good! I’m not really an oatmeal fan, but have been eating it for all the health benefits. Lately, I’ve been added tons of different things to make it actually tasty and let me tell you I now look forward to eating it in the morning. For lunch today I had the last sandwich thin with a little mayo and turkey, a hard-boiled egg sans yolk and an apple. I’m definitely coming up with something creative for dinner, I’m tired of leftovers.

Today has been an absolutely teeth-clenching, bad back day. I’m really thankful that I had a wonderful hard, hard work out yesterday. I’m not sure I’m going to get in anything today (besides the walk). Hopefully I’ll feel better soon. The only comfortable position I’ve found is flat on my back (on a heating pad) on the ground. That’s where I’ll be returning to in just a minute.

Before I go…. Go TERPS! Number 1 in the ACC!!! What a great game!

GOOOO TERPS

Pictures to come (the next time I get up off the ground)

One thought on “Happy Weekend!

  1. Pingback: Lunch Date « Life With a Crazy Pup

Leave a Reply

